Royal College Guest Speakers

2022Dr Abdullah Saleh
Assistant Professor, Faculty of Medicine & Dentistry – Surgery Department
Director of the Global Surgery Office
Program Director for the Pediatric General Surgery Global Fellowship
Co-Program Director for the Acute Care Global Surgery Fellowship
University of Alberta
Pediatric Trauma Director at the Stollery Children’s/University of Alberta Hospital
2021Dr. Najma Ahmed
Professor of Surgery and Vice Chair Education, Department of Surgery, University of Toronto Ontario Interim Surgeon-in-Chief, St Michael’s Hospital, Unity Health Supervisor of Clinical Fellows, Trauma Services, University of Toronto Executive, Canadian Doctors for Protection from Guns
2019Dr. Sulaiman Nanji
Surgeon-scientist with the Department of Surgery at Queen’s University in Kingston, Ontario. He has earned a MD, PhD, and designation as a clinical investigator through the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons
2018Dr. Christopher Schlachta
Professor of the Departments of Surgery and Oncology, Schulich School of Medicine and Dentistry at Western University, and Medical Director at CSTAR, London Health Sciences Centre
2017Dr. Adrian Park
Chair, Department of Surgery, Anne Arundel Medical Center
Professor of Surgery, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
2016Dr. Carol-anne Moulton
Associate Professor
University of Toronto Staff Surgeon
Division of General Surgery University Health Network Scientist, the Wilson Centre
2015Dr. Robin McLeod
Professor, Departments of Surgery and Health Policy Management & Evaluation
Vice Chair, Quality & Performance, Department of Surgery University of Toronto
Vice President, Clinical Programs and Quality Initiatives, Cancer Care Ontario
2014Dr. Susan Reid
Professor and Chair of the Department of Surgery, McMaster University
John A. Bauer Chair in Surgery, Hamilton Health Sciences.
Hamilton, Ontario
2013Dr. Andy Smith
Chief, Odette Cancer Centre, Sunnybrook
Regional Vice President, Cancer Care Ontario
Bernard & Ryna Langer Professor and Chair,
Divison of General Surgery, University of Toronto
Toronto, Ontario
2012Dr. Quan-Yang Duh
Professor of Surgery and Chief, Section of Endocrine Surgery
Endocrine Surgical and Oncology Clinic
San Francisco, California
2011Dr. William Tisol
Assistant Professor of Surgery
Medical College of Wisconsin
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
2010Dr. Stephen R. Munn
Clinical Professor of Surgery
Clinical Director, Transplantation
University of Aukland, Auckland City Hospital
Auckland, New Zealand
2009Dr. Mehran Anvari
Professor, Department of Surgery
McMaster University
Hamilton, Ontario
2008Dr. Frederick D. Brenneman
Associate Professor
Medical Director, Trauma Services
University of Toronto, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre
Toronto, Ontario
2007Dr. Scott A. Shikora
Professor and Chief of Bariatric Surgery
Tufts-New England Medical Center
Boston, Massachusetts
2006Dr. John G. Hunter
Professor and Chair of Surgery
Oregon Health Sciences University
Portland, Oregon
2005Dr. O. James Garden
Professor of Surgery
Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh
Scotland, United Kingdom
2004Dr. Gerald Fried
Professor of Surgery
McGill University
Montreal, Quebec
2003Dr. Peter Fletcher
2002D. Mika Sinanan
2001Dr. Demetrius Litwin
2000Dr. Bryce Taylor
1999Dr. Layton Rikkers
1998Dr. Roger Keith
1997Dr. Luc Deschênes
1996Dr. John Terblanche
1995Dr. Nathaniel J. Soper
1994Dr. Eric Poulin
1993Dr. Allan MacDonald
1992Dr. Haile T. Debas
1991Dr. Robert Beart
1990Dr. Lawrence Way
1989Mr. Peter Hawley
1988Dr. A.J. Donovan
1987Dr. R.J. Kirkpatrick
1986Dr. D.S. Mulder
1985Dr. J.H. Duff
1984Dr. Frederic Inglis
1983Sir Miles H. Irving
1982Dr. Robert E Hermann
1981Dr. Bernard Langer
1980Dr. Bernard Perey
1979Dr. Henry Buchwald
1978Dr. John Braasch
1977Dr. John Griffiths
1976Dr. George Sheldon
1975Dr. Edward Passaro, Jr
1974Dr. John Palmer
1973Dr. William Blaisdell
1972Dr. Jack Farris
1971Dr. Arthur Localio
1970Dr. Robert Laird
1969Dr. Ben Eiseman
1969Dr. Francis Moore
1969Dr. Victor Richards
1968Dr. Samuel Powers, Jr
1967Dr. Charles Rob
1966Dr. Lloyd MacLean
1965Dr. Bentley Colcock
1964Dr. George Crile, Jr
1963Dr. James T Priestley
1962Dr. Charles Child, 3rd
1961Dr. Harris Shumacker, Jr
1960Dr. Victor Richards
1959Dr. W P Longmire, Jr
1958Dr. Frank Glenn
1957Dr. Claude Welch
1956Dr. Richard Cattell
1955Dr. G A Hallenbeck
1954Dr. Gordon Murray
1953Dr. A D McLachlin
1952Dr. Warren Cole
1951Dr. O H Wangensteen
1950Dr. D O Ferris
1949Dr. O T Clagett
1948Dr. R M Janes